Team:SydneyUni Australia/Attributions


SydneyUniversity Top Banner.jpg SydneyUniversity Bottom Banner.jpg


  • Yagiz Alp Aksoy, gave some great advice and encouragement about starting a new iGEM team at Sydney University, Australian School of Advanced Medicine, Macquarie University
  • Dr Nick Coleman, gave a ‘provisional yes’ to supervise our team 5 minutes after hearing about iGEM for the first time, School of Molecular Bioscience, Sydney University
  • Cheers to Kiri, Elissa, Mia, Alice, Jayden, Mai-Anh, Sam, et al. who helped our team survive in the Coleman/Holmes/Newsome communal lab space

Our project would have been impossible without:

  • Elissa Liew, who isolated and characterised the DCA degrading Xanthobacter EL4
  • Jake Munro, who isolated and cloned the dhlB and dhlA genes from Xanthobacter EL4.
  • Deborah Rich, who confirmed these could be expressed as expected in E. coli.

Strange Nature

  • Rebecca Miller, point of contact to organise sponsorship, judging and possible publication of a winning entries, Executive Sales Manager at IDT
  • Tamzin Byrne and Chris Lassig, advice on science communication, Science in Public
  • Kel Hardingham, advice on reaching gifted and talented students, educational consultant and retired science teacher

Our Judges:

  • Craig Cormick, author and science-communication advisor at CSIRO
  • Nicola Brookman-Amissah, Senior Scientific Writer at IDT
  • Yagiz Alp Aksoy, PhD candidate at Macquarie University

Financial Support

We were generously supported by the University of Sydney when we started the first USyd iGEM team in earl 2013, and also in October 2013 after our success in Hong Kong.

  • Professor Trevor Hambley, Dean of Science, Sydney University
  • Professor Robyn Overall, Head of School of Biology, Sydney University
  • Professor Iain Campbell, Head of School of Molecular Bioscience, Sydney University
  • Professor Chris Murphy, Head of School of Medical Sciences, Sydney University
  • Professor Derrick Armstrong, Deputy Vice Chancellor of Education, Sydney University
  • Professor Jill Trewhella, Deputy Vice Chancellor of Research, Sydney University

With thanks to: